Meeting Time and Format

The Astrophysics Seminar/Journal Club meets in 338 Gallalee Hall on:
1. Wednesdays from 2:30 – 3:30p.m. and
2. Fridays from 2:00 – 3:00 p.m.
Anyone in the department may attend.

On Wednesday’s we participate in the live broadcast of colloquium talks hosted by NASA/AURA’s Space Telescope Science Institute. The schedule for the talks is available here. The first talk this Fall is on September 6th, 2017.

The Friday meeting consists of two segments:

  • 20-minute talk (+10 minute discussion)
  • article summary and discussion (5-10 minutes)

Volunteering for Article Summaries

Please send your articles to Dean and Jimmy. If your article is too old to be interesting, replace it!

Please propose articles that are fairly recent (within a few months or so), are of interest to you, and you feel you can digest and summarize well. Check out the list of previously presented articles.

Where to Find Articles

Schedule for Spring 2018

Date Talk (Speaker, Article) Summary (Speaker, Article)
1/19  Organizational meeting
2/2 Shahram Talei
Two Recent Improvements in CoSANG
Amy Jones
Colormaps for data display
Rainbows are bad
Good color mapping
Useful stuff for matplotlib
2/16 Career panel discussion (2:15-3:30, in GL 223)
2/23 Colin Hancock
“Quantitative Analysis of Three-armed Spiral Galaxies”
3/2 Wenhao Li
Poststarburst Galaxies based on IFU Observation
 Jeremy Bailin
An absorption profile centred at 78 megahertz in the sky-averaged spectrum Bowman et al. 2018 Nature 555, 67Preethi Nair
Update on portable planetarium.
3/9 Spencer Caldwell
Population Synthesis of Cataclysmic Variables
Goliasch and Nelson 2015, ApJ, 809, 80
3/16 No event (spring break)
3/23  Kavya Mukundan
Normal black holes in bulge-less galaxies: the largely quiescent, merger-free growth of black holes over cosmic time
Shahram Talei
Self-consistent semi-analytic models of the first stars Visbal, Haiman, Bryan 2018MNRAS.475.5246V

Lucas Johnson

Nirmal Baral

3/30 Jacob Morgan
4/6 No event (honors day)
4/13 Sreetama Goswami
4/20 Nirmal Baral
Improving galaxy morphologies for SDSS with Deep Learning
4/27  Ashok Timsina

Archive of previously presented articles.